Minnesota-Wisconsin Tuition Reciprocity Instructions

Applicaton to the program is the responsibility of the individual.

How To Apply

Complete this application IN FULL and submit. Students enrolled under reciprocity who earned credits that were reported by the institution to the WHEAB during any semester of the current academic year, will automatically have benefits renewed for the upcoming academic year at the institution they are currently attending. Therefore, these students need not reapply. If you, or the institution where you are enrolled, do not receive notification of your renewal status within three weeks of your application, please contact the Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board.


The application deadline is the last day of classes at the institution you are or will be attending for the term benefits are needed. Applications WILL NOT be processed retroactively. If you wish to participate in the program for the entire academic year, your application must be correctly completed and submitted by the last day of scheduled classes in the fall term at the institution you are or will be attending.

Who Is Eligible

Wisconsin residents attending Minnesota public institutions and Minnesota residents attending Wisconsin public institutions are eligible. Professional students enrolling in a Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Dental Sciences, or Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program in the public institutions of either state are ineligible for reciprocity tuition.

Notification of Acceptance

You will receive the results of your application within four to six weeks after you have applied. If you do not receive results within six weeks, you should assume your application was not properly submitted and apply again.

Application For Admission

Application to the Minnesota-Wisconsin Reciprocity Program does not constitute application for admission to an educational institution. Regardless of your eligibility for tuition reciprocity, you must still apply and qualify for admission to the school of your choice, following the procedures required by that institution.

Administrative Agencies

The WHEAB will determine the residency and eligibility status of Wisconsin applicants enrolled in Minnesota public institutions and will certify to the Minnesota public institutions which students are eligible to pay the established reciprocity fee. Similarly, the MOHE will determine the residency and eligibility status of Minnesota applicants in Wisconsin public institutions and will certify to the Wisconsin public institutions which students are eligible to pay the established reciprocity fee.

Eligible Institutions


University of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
University of Wisconsin – Green Bay
University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
University of Wisconsin – Madison
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh
University of Wisconsin – Parkside
University of Wisconsin – Platteville
University of Wisconsin – River Falls
University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
University of Wisconsin – Stout
University of Wisconsin – Superior
University of Wisconsin – Whitewater

University of Wisconsin Colleges
UW College – Baraboo / Sauk County
UW College – Barron County
UW College – Fond du Lac
UW College – Fox Valley
UW College – Manitowoc
UW College – Marathon County
UW College – Marinette
UW College – Marshfield / Wood County
UW College – Richland
UW College – Rock County
UW College – Sheboygan
UW College – Washington County
UW College – Waukesha


University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota – Crookston
University of Minnesota – Duluth
University of Minnesota – Morris
University of Minnesota – Rochester
University of Minnesota – Twin Cities

Minnesota State Universities
Bemidji State University
Metropolitan State University
Minnesota State University – Mankato
Minnesota State University – Moorhead
Saint Cloud State University
Southwest Minnesota State University
Winona State University

Minnesota State Colleges
Anoka Ramsey Community College
Central Lakes Community & Technical College
Century Community & Technical College
Fond du Lac Community College
Hibbing Community & Technical College
Inver Hills Community College
Itasca Community College
Lake Superior Community & Technical College
Mesabi Community & Technical College
Minneapolis Community & Technical College
Minnesota State Community & Technical College
Minnesota West Community & Technical College
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community & Technical College
Rainy River Community College
Ridgewater Community & Technical College
Riverland Community & Technical College
Rochester Community & Technical College
Vermilion Community College