HEAB navigation bar HEAB Main Page Contacting HEAB Financial Aid Application Info Links Questions Aid Administrators Site Map Wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin
Financial Aid
Administered by HEAB
Financial Aid Programs
Grants
Wisconsin Higher Education Grant (WHEG)
Wisconsin Tuition Grant (WTG)
Talent Incentive Program (TIP) Grant
Indian Student Assistance Grant
Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant
Hearing & Visually Handicapped Student Grant
Which Grants are Available at Which Schools
Scholarships
Academic Excellence Scholarship (AES)
Loans
Minority Teacher Loan
Nursing Student Loan
Teacher Education Loan
Teacher of the Visually Impaired Loan
Tuition Reciprocity
Minnesota-Wisconsin Tuition Reciprocity
Reciprocity Agreements with Other States
Tuition Capitation
Contract for Dental Education
Medical College of Wisconsin Capitation
ELIGIBILITY: To be eligible for Wisconsin state financial aid, a student must:
  • Be a resident of the state of Wisconsin
  • Have a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent
  • Be enrolled in an undergraduate degree or certificate program
  • Be attending a non-profit college or university based in Wisconsin
See the individual program descriptions (below) for specific exceptions.

Eligibility for need-based state financial aid programs is determined using the data from the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The FAFSA may be filled-out and submitted online at https://fafsa.ed.gov. Paper copies of the FAFSA are available from college and university financial aid offices or high school guidance offices.

State statutes prohibit students from receiving state financial aid who are:

  • Not registered with Selective Service, if required to register.
  • Listed on the Department of Workforce Development’s statewide Child Support Lien Docket, unless the student has an approved payment plan. (Students on the Lien Docket may still receive AES and state loans.)

Download the HEAB Program Information Brochure

Grants
 
Grants are "gift" aid; they do not have to be repaid. Eligibility for grants is based primarily on financial need, and each grant program has specific eligibility requirements.

 

WISCONSIN HIGHER EDUCATION GRANT
UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Tribal Colleges

The Wisconsin Higher Education Grant (WHEG) Program provides grant assistance to undergraduate, Wisconsin residents enrolled at least half-time in degree or certificate programs at University of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Technical College, and Tribal institutions. Awards are based on financial need. Eligibility cannot exceed ten semesters.

Application: FAFSA
Required Enrollment: At least half-time
Award Amount: minimum and maximum awards set annually by HEAB, minimum may not be less than $250, maximum may not exceed $3,000
State Statute: 39.435
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 5
Contact Person: Cindy Cooley (UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges)
Deanna Schulz (Tribal Colleges)

 

WISCONSIN TUITION GRANT
Independent Colleges & Universities

The Wisconsin Tuition Grant (WTG) Program provides grant assistance to undergraduate, Wisconsin residents enrolled at least half-time in degree or certificate programs at non-profit, independent colleges or universities based in Wisconsin. Awards are based on financial need and partially based on that portion of tuition in excess of UW - Madison tuition. The maximum award amount is established annually by HEAB. Eligibility cannot exceed ten semesters.

Application: FAFSA
Required Enrollment: At least half-time
Award Amount: minimum and maximum awards set annually by HEAB, minimum may not be less than $250
State Statute: 39.30
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 4
Contact Person: Deanna Schulz

 

TALENT INCENTIVE PROGRAM GRANT
UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Independent Colleges & Universities, Tribal Colleges

The Talent Incentive Program (TIP) Grant provides grant assistance to the most financially needy and educationally disadvantaged Wisconsin resident students attending colleges and universities in the State of Wisconsin. First-time freshmen students are nominated for the TIP Grant by the school financial aid offices or by counselors of the Wisconsin Educational Opportunity Programs (WEOP). To continue to receive the TIP Grant, students must be enrolled consecutive terms and continue to show financial need. Eligibility cannot exceed ten semesters. Funding for the TIP Grant is provided by both the State of Wisconsin and the Federal Government.

Application: FAFSA and nomination (for initial awards) by Financial Aid Office or WEOP
Required Enrollment: At least half-time, first-time freshman for initial awards, and continuous enrollment from term to term
Award Amount: $600 to $1,800 for initial awards, $250 minimum continuing award, maximum continuing award set annually by HEAB (may not exceed $1,800)
State Statute: 39.435(2)
Administrative Rules: HEA 5.04, HEA 5.05
Contact Person: Cassie Weisensel

Please visit our Frequently Asked Questions page for answers to common questions about the Talent Incentive Program Grant.

 

INDIAN STUDENT ASSISTANCE GRANT
UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Independent Colleges & Universities, Tribal Colleges, and Proprietary (for-profit) Schools

Awards under this program are made to Wisconsin residents who are at least 25% Native American and are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled in degree or certificate programs at University of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Technical College, independent colleges and universities, tribal colleges, or proprietary institutions based in Wisconsin. Awards are based on financial need with a limit of ten semesters of eligibility. HEAB has an informal matching arrangement with grant funds awarded by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs and Wisconsin Tribal governments.

Application: FAFSA and Indian Student Assistance Grant Application
Required Enrollment: At least part-time (including less than half-time)
Award Amount: $250 to $1,100
State Statute: 39.38
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 6
Contact Person: Cindy Cooley

Download the grant application from the Student Forms and Applications page.

 

MINORITY UNDERGRADUATE RETENTION GRANT
Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Independent Colleges & Universities, Tribal Colleges

Awards under this program are made to Wisconsin resident minority undergraduates, excluding first year students, enrolled at least half-time in independent, tribal, or Wisconsin Technical College institutions. According to the statutes, a minority student is defined as a student who is either an African American; American Indian; Hispanic; or Southeast Asian from Laos, Cambodia, or Vietnam admitted to the U. S. after December 31, 1975. Awards are based on financial need with a maximum grant of $2,500 per year for up to eight semesters or twelve quarters.

Application: FAFSA and nomination by Financial Aid Office
Required Enrollment: At least half-time, and excluding first year
Award Amount: $250 to $2,500
State Statute: 39.44
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 12
Contact Person: Deanna Schulz

PLEASE NOTE: The UW System Administration administers a similar program, the Ben R. Lawton Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant, for University of Wisconsin System students.

 

HEARING & VISUALLY HANDICAPPED STUDENT GRANT
UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Independent Colleges & Universities, Tribal Colleges, and some out-of-state schools

The Handicapped Student Grant Program was established to provide funding for undergraduate Wisconsin residents, enrolled at in-state or eligible out-of-state public or independent institutions who show financial need and have a severe or profound hearing or visual impairment. Students are eligible to receive up to $1,800 per year for up to ten semesters.

Application: FAFSA and Hearing & Visually Handicapped Student Grant Application
Required Enrollment: At least half-time
Award Amount: $250 to $1,800
State Statute: 39.435(5)
Administrative Rules: HEA 5.06
Contact Person: Cindy Cooley

Download the grant application from the Student Forms and Applications page.

 

Which Grants are Available at Which Schools

GRANT University of Wisconsin System Wisconsin Technical Colleges Independent Colleges & Universities Tribal Colleges For-Profit Schools Out-of-State Schools
Wisconsin Higher Education Grant X X   X    
Wisconsin Tuition Grant     X      
Talent Incentive Program Grant X X X X    
Indian Student Assistance Grant X X X X X  
Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant   X X X    
Hearing & Visually Handicapped Student Grant X X X X   X

Back to Top of Page
 

Scholarships
 
Scholarships are "gift" aid; they do not have to be repaid. Unlike grants, eligibility for scholarships is usually based on merit or achievement, rather than financial need.

 

ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP
UW System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, Independent Colleges & Universities

Academic Excellence Scholarships are awarded to Wisconsin high school seniors who have the highest grade point average in each public and private high school throughout the State of Wisconsin. The number of scholarships each high school is eligible for is based on total student enrollment. In order to receive a scholarship, a student must be enrolled on a full-time basis by September 30th of the academic year following the academic year in which he or she was designated as a scholar, at a participating University of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Technical College, or independent institution in the state. The value of the scholarship is $2,250 per year, to be applied towards tuition. Half of the scholarship is funded by the state, while the other half is matched by the institution. Eligibility must not exceed 8 semesters.

Application: None - recipients are designated by their high school based on GPA
Required Enrollment: Full-time, and continuous enrollment from term to term
Award Amount: Full-time tuition, up to $2,250
State Statute: 39.41
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 9
Contact Person: Nancy Wilkison

Please visit our Frequently Asked Questions page for answers to common questions about the Academic Excellence Scholarship.

Back to Top of Page
 

Loans
 
Unlike grants and scholarships, loans must be repaid. The current state loan programs were created to address specific needs in Wisconsin. Some or all of the debt from these loans may be forgiven if the student works in Wisconsin in the specified field after completing their degree.

PLEASE NOTE: The Higher Educational Aids Board may not forgive existing federal or private student loans; we may only forgive loans that originate from this agency.

 

MINORITY TEACHER LOAN
Available at Wisconsin colleges & universities which offer teaching degrees.

The Minority Teacher Loan Program provides loans to Wisconsin resident, minority, undergraduate juniors or seniors or graduate students who are enrolled at least half-time in programs leading to teacher licensure at an independent or University of Wisconsin Institution. The maximum award per year is $2,500 with an overall maximum of $5,000. According to the statutes, a minority student is defined as a student who is either an African American; American Indian; Hispanic; or Southeast Asian from Laos, Cambodia, or Vietnam admitted to the U. S. after December 31, 1975. The student who participates in this program must agree to teach in a Wisconsin school district in which minority students constitute at least 29% of total enrollment or in a school district participating in the inter-district pupil transfer (Chapter 220) program. For each year the student teaches in an eligible school district, 25% of the loan is forgiven. If the student does not teach in an eligible district, the loan must be repaid at an interest rate of 5%.

Application: Nomination by Financial Aid Office
Required Enrollment: At least half-time; juniors, seniors, or graduate students only
Award Amount: $250 to $2,500
Forgiveness: 25% per year for teaching in a minority school district in Wisconsin
State Statute: 39.40
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 11
Contact Person: Deanna Schulz

Download the Minority Teacher Loan Brochure:
Microsoft Word file or PDF

 

NURSING STUDENT LOAN
Available at Wisconsin colleges & universities which offer nursing degrees.

The Nursing Student Loan Program provides loans to Wisconsin resident undergraduates or graduate students who are enrolled at least half-time at an eligible in-state institution that prepares them to be licensed as nurses, either RN or LPN. The maximum award per year is $3,000 with an overall maximum of $15,000. The student who participates in this program must agree to be employed as a licensed nurse in Wisconsin. For each of the first two years the student works as a nurse or nurse educator and meets the eligibility criteria, 25% of the loan is forgiven. The balance remaining after forgiveness must be repaid at an interest rate of 5%. If the student does not work as a nurse or nurse educator and meet the eligibility criteria, the loan must be repaid at an interest rate of 5%.

Application: FAFSA and nomination by Financial Aid Office
Required Enrollment: At least half-time
Award Amount: $250 to $3,000
Forgiveness: 25% per year for 2 years for working as a nurse or nurse educator in Wisconsin
State Statute: 39.393
Contact Person: Peter Zammuto

Download the Nursing Student Loan information handout (PDF file).

 

TEACHER EDUCATION LOAN
Available only at the Milwaukee Teacher Education Center (MTEC).

The Teacher Education Loan Program provides loans to Wisconsin residents enrolled in the teacher education programs at the Milwaukee Teacher Education Center (MTEC). The student who receives this loan must agree to teach in the Wisconsin school district operating under Chapter 119 of the Wisconsin State Statutes, First Class City School System (currently only the Milwaukee Public Schools). For each year the student teaches in the eligible school district, 50% of the loan is forgiven. If the student does not teach in the eligible district, the loan must be repaid at an interest rate of 5%.

Application: Teacher Education Loan Program Recipient Application
Required Enrollment: Teacher education program at MTEC
Award Amount: $250 minimum, maximum set annually be HEAB
Forgiveness: 50% per year for teaching in the Milwaukee Public Schools
State Statute: 39.395
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 13
Contact Person: Colette Brown

 

TEACHER OF THE VISUALLY IMPAIRED LOAN
Available at colleges & universities which offer programs for teachers of visually impaired students, located in Wisconsin or in an adjacent state (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan or Minnesota).

The Teacher of the Visually Impaired Loan Program provides loans to Wisconsin resident undergraduates or graduate students who are enrolled at least half-time at an in-state or eligible out-of-state institution in a program that prepares them to be licensed as teachers of the visually impaired or as orientation and mobility instructors. The maximum award per year is $10,000 with an overall maximum of $40,000. The student who participates in this program must agree to be a licensed teacher or an orientation or mobility instructor in a Wisconsin school district, the Wisconsin Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired or a cooperative educational service agency. For each of the first two years the student teaches and meets the eligibility criteria, 25% of the loan is forgiven. For the third year, 50% is forgiven. If the student does not teach and meet the eligibility criteria, the loan must be repaid at an interest rate of 5%.

Application: FAFSA and nomination by Financial Aid Office
Required Enrollment: At least part-time (including less than half-time)
Award Amount: $250 to $10,000
Forgiveness: 25% per year for the 1st and 2nd year, and 50% for the 3rd year, for teaching visually impaired students in Wisconsin
State Statute: 39.398
Administrative Rules: Chapter HEA 14
Contact Person: Nancy Wilkison

Back to Top of Page
 

Tuition Reciprocity
 
Tuition reciprocity agreements reduce the cost of out-of-state tuition for Wisconsin residents attending specific schools in other states.

 

MINNESOTA-WISCONSIN TUITION RECIPROCITY
For Wisconsin residents attending colleges and universities in Minnesota

The MN-WI Tuition Reciprocity Program provides tuition reciprocity for Wisconsin residents who enroll in an eligible Minnesota public institution program on a space available basis. Students who qualify pay for course work at in-state tuition rates. Professional students enrolling in a Doctor of Medicine, a Doctor of Dental Sciences, or a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program are not eligible for tuition reciprocity under this program.

Application: Minnesota-Wisconsin Application for Reciprocity Fee Status
Deadline: Applications must be postmarked or electronically submitted no later than the last day of scheduled classes of the first term for which the student expects to receive benefits.
Required Enrollment: At least part-time (including less than half-time)
State Statute: 39.47
Administrative Rules: See Board Report #08-01
Contact Person: Peter Zammuto

Please visit our MN-WI Tuition Reciprocity Application page to apply for MN-WI Tuition Reciprocity.

 

RECIPROCITY AGREEMENTS WITH OTHER STATES

Under s. 39.42 of the statutes, HEAB, with the approval of the Joint Committee on Finance, or the governing boards of any publicly-supported, postsecondary institution, with the approval of HEAB and the Finance Committee, may enter into reciprocity agreements with appropriate state educational institutions in other states. Under this authority, the state has entered into education reciprocity agreements with community and technical colleges in Michigan, Illinois, and Iowa.

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM

    MICHIGAN RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT
    Bay de Noc Community College, Escanaba, MI
    Gogebic Community College, Iron Mountain, MI

    This agreement, which was established in 1967, is between a two-year UW System campus, UW College - Marinette, and two community colleges in Michigan, Gogebic Community College in Iron Mountain and Bay de Noc Community College in Escanaba. This agreement applies only to those individuals located in Menominee County in Michigan, and in Marinette and Iron Counties in Wisconsin. Under the agreement, a student who has been a resident of Menominee County, Michigan, for at least one year prior to their enrollment date may enroll at UW College - Marinette and pay Wisconsin resident tuition. Similarly, residents of Iron County and Marinette County may enroll at Gogebic Community College and Bay de Noc Community College, respectively, and pay the Michigan resident tuition rate. For admissions purposes, students are treated as residents of the state in which they are enrolled. The agreement provides for automatic renewal unless either state provides written notice terminating the agreement. Such notice must be given at least 12 months prior to the academic year for which the agreement would be terminated.

WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE SYSTEM

    MICHIGAN RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT
    Bay de Noc Community College, Escanaba, MI
    Gogebic Community College, Iron Mountain, MI

    The agreement with Michigan, which was first established in 1981, involves three Wisconsin Technical College districts (Nicolet Area, Wisconsin Indianhead, and Northeast Wisconsin) and Bay de Noc Community College and Gogebic Community College. Under the agreement, Michigan residents attending any of the three Wisconsin Technical Colleges pay Wisconsin's resident tuition rate, and Wisconsin residents attending the Michigan colleges pay Michigan's resident tuition rate. In addition, the agreement provides that a resident of one of the states whose employer is located in the other state and whose employer pays his or her tuition, shall be considered a resident of the other state for tuition purposes. The agreement, which is renewed automatically each year, does not specify particular programs in which the student must enroll.

    ILLINOIS RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT
    College of Lake County, Grayslake, IL
    McHenry County College, Crystal Lake, IL
    Rock Valley College, Rockford, IL

    Three WTCS districts have reciprocity agreements with colleges in Illinois. Gateway has agreements with the College of Lake County, McHenry County College, and Rock Valley College. Blackhawk and Chippewa Valley also have agreements with Rock Valley. Under the current agreements, participating students from both states are charged Wisconsin resident tuition. While priority for admission is given to residents of the state in which the college is located, after their first semester, students enrolled under the agreement are given the same priority as residents. However, no state resident may be displaced due to an agreement.

    IOWA RECIPROCITY AGREEMENT
    Northeast Iowa Community College, Calmar and Peosta, IA

    Wisconsin's agreement with Iowa became effective in the 1996-97 academic year. The agreement is between Southwest Wisconsin Technical College in Wisconsin and Northeast Iowa Community College, which has campuses in Calmar and Peosta, Iowa. Under the agreement with Iowa, students are charged the resident tuition rate for the institution in which they are enrolled. Priority for initial admission is given to state residents, and participating students are treated as residents for tuition purposes after their first semester.

Back to Top of Page
 

Tuition Capitation
 
Tuition capitation contracts provide fixed tuition subsides for limited numbers of Wisconsin residents at specific graduate-level professional schools.

 

CONTRACT FOR DENTAL EDUCATION
Available only at the Marquette University School of Dentistry

The Contract for Dental Education allows a finite number of Wisconsin residents to attend the Marquette University School of Dentistry at a "resident" tuition rate. Currently 160 students are able to participate each academic year. Students who meet the program criteria are awarded $8,753 in tuition subsidization.

Application: None
Required Enrollment: Full-time in the D.D.S. program at Marquette University
Award Amount: $8,753
State Statute: 39.46
Contact Person: Cassie Weisensel

 

MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN CAPITATION
Available only at the Medical College of Wisconsin

The Medical College of Wisconsin Capitation Program provides tuition assistance to a finite number of Wisconsin residents enrolled full-time in the Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) program at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Application: None
Required Enrollment: Full-time in the M.D. program at the Medical College of Wisconsin
State Statute: 39.155
Contact Person: Cassie Weisensel

Back to Top of Page
 

HEAB Main Page | Contacting HEAB | Financial Aid Programs | Financial Aid Application Information
Frequently Asked Questions | Links | Information for Financial Aid Administrators | Site Map

© Copyright 2008 by the Higher Educational Aids Board.
HEAB E-Mail: HEABmail@wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin E-Government Privacy Notice

http://heab.wisconsin.gov/programs.html