# STATE OF WISCONSIN DISTANCE LEARNING AUTHORIZATION BOARD (DLAB) December 14, 2017 Meeting Minutes

Members present:	Dr. Morna Foy, WTCS Dr. Ray Cross, UW System – (via conference line) Ms. Barbara Lundberg, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College – (via conference line) Dr. Laura Gutiérrez, DSPS
Others present:	Ms. Paige Smith, UW System Ms. Nancy Merrill, WTCS Ms. Rebecca Larson, WAICU (proxy for Dr. Rolf Wegenke, WAICU) Ms. Erin Engsberg, WAICU

#### Call to Order and Open Meeting Statement

Dr. Foy, DLAB chair, called the meeting to order. Dr. Foy requested that Ms. Engsberg read the Open Meeting Statement as follows: "The December 14, 2017 meeting of the Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board and all other meetings of this board are open to the public in compliance with State Statute. Notice of the meeting has been sent to the press in an attempt to make the general public of Wisconsin aware of the time, place and agenda of the meeting."

#### **Report of the Chair**

Welcome new member, Dr. Laura Gutiérrez, Secretary, Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). In the last state budget, the Educational Approval Board (EAB) was moved to DSPS. That move modified the membership of this board.

Thank you to David Dies, EAB, for his service on the board and development of DLAB.

WAICU President Rolf Wegenke has received the Phillip Sirotkin Award for exemplary leadership in advancing Midwestern higher education through interstate cooperation. Congratulations to Dr. Wegenke.

#### Action: Approval of August 16, 2017 DLAB meeting minutes

There were no corrections to the August 16, 2017 meeting minutes. The minutes were approved unanimously (Cross/Larson motion).

The minutes will be posted on the DLAB website.

#### Sector Institutional Updates

Ms. Larson, Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU), reported that four private, non-profit institutions submitted applications for renewal with SARA

- Mount Mary
- Lakeland
- Carthage

The three institutions have a financial responsibility ratio of over 1.5 and their applications contained all the necessary supporting documents.

The fourth institution, Nashotah House, requested an extension on the renewal application deadline. The approval for an extension from SARA, was granted through Marshall Hill, Executive Director, NC SARA. The Nashotah House financial responsibility ratio was calculated via a USDE formula, pulling information from their financial statements. The financial responsibility ratio was calculated above 1.5 and verified by independent auditors.

Ms. Merrill, Wisconsin Technical College System, reported that two technical colleges applied for renewal with SARA:

- Midstate Technical College
- Blackhawk Technical College

Both institutions contained all the necessary supporting documents. Ms. Merrill noted that technical colleges are not required to submit a financial responsibility ratio.

A third technical college, Gateway, is preparing the application and should submit in January.

## Action: Modification to DLAB Bylaws

**Motion:** Based upon 2017 Wisconsin Act 59, the 2017-19 Biennial Budget, update membership listed in DLAB bylaws to be consistent with new statutory language (Larson, Cross motion).

## Background on proposed modification to Bylaws:

The DLAB bylaws approved in May 2016 list the membership of the Board.

Act 59 changes the membership from the executive secretary of the Educational Approval Board to the secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services or his or her designee. The motion would approve changes to the Bylaws to ensure consistency with statutory language.

The motion passed unanimously.

## Action: Approval of 2017 Annual Report

DLAB is required by statute to submit an annual report of its activities to the legislature by January 31, every year. Final copies of the report go to the Governor and clerks of both houses of the legislature. Ms. Merrill reviewed with the board the draft report and provided some highlights of the report.

Dr. Cross questioned the name of the proprietary institution listed on page three, noting that he was unfamiliar with the name and stated that all materials should say the full name. He also noted that

the all websites must have clear indication of their accreditation as well as a process for student complaints.

Dr. Gutiérrez reported that Madison Media, a proprietary institution, was in good standing and should be approved by the end of the month. Once Madison Media has their statement of accreditation and statement of financial aid from the Department of Education, a conference call will be scheduled to approve and remove the provisional approval.

Dr. Gutiérrez also noted that Wright Graduate University for the Realization of Human Potential, another proprietary institution, should have their application completed soon. Wright Graduate University is an online graduate school with different graduate programs. The institution was provisionally approved due to an accreditation issue. They have found and moved forward with a new accreditor. Wright Graduate University should have a statement of accreditation and statement of financial aid from Department of Education by end of month.

The topic of provisional approval was discussed. There was no guidance from NC SARA on provisional accreditation. Ms. Smith suggested that administrative language should be added to the bylaws to address provisional approval. Specific language will be drafted along with a listing of required documentation for the approval of the board.

The draft report was approved as amended (Cross/Larson motion). An electronic copy will be sent to all board members when submitted to the Governor and Legislature.

# Action: Election of Officers for 2018

In first meeting in May 2016 officers were elected with an agreement that the inaugural term would be for an 18-month period. The bylaws state one-year terms, and officers may be elected to successive terms.

A motion was put forth that the current slate of officers be renewed (Larson/Cross motion):

- Chair Morna Foy, WTCS
- Vice Chair Ray Cross, UW System
- Secretary Rolf Wegenke, WAICU

The motion passed unanimously. The officers remain the same for the next year

## Next meeting

The next meeting will be for approval of the state application due in June of 2018. A March/spring meeting/conference call may be scheduled if additional applications are received.

## <u>Adjourn</u>

Motion to adjourn (Foy/Cross motion).