The Board

The Higher Educational Aids Board is a part-time independent policy-making board composed of twelve members appointed to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Governor appoints one member from the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System; one member from the State Board of the Wisconsin Technical College System; one member who is a trustee of an independent college or university to represent such independent institutions; one student and one financial aid administrator each from within the University of Wisconsin System, Wisconsin Technical College System and independent institutions; one citizen member to represent the general public; and the state superintendent of public instruction. The Board is a policy making body with policy making and regulatory responsibilities.

Reports are prepared for the consideration of the Board on important issues. Members are urged to work with issues from a state perspective and not from institutional and system perspectives. The Board's input should focus on overall student need rather than upon the perceived need of specific student categories, institutions, or educational systems.

Some examples of Board issues for discussion and action, when appropriate, include: recommendations for Statutory and Administrative Code changes, Wisconsin Higher Education Grant or Wisconsin Tuition Grant formula elements, and Biennial Budget Proposals.

Board Reports & Meeting Records


2015-2016  |   2014-2015  |   2013-2014  |   2012-2013  |   2011-2012  |   2010-2011  |   2009-2010  |   Older >

Members of The Board

Mr. Steve Midthun, Chair
Independent Colleges and Universities
Financial Aid Representative

Milwaukee School of Engineering
5778 Rochelle Drive
Greendale, WI 53129
(414) 277-7224
(414) 277-6952 fax
Term Ends: May 1, 2018
Mr. Nathaniel Helm-Quest, Vice-Chair
Wisconsin Technical College System
Student Representative

N4762 State Hwy 76
Shicton, WI 54170
(920) 574-8675
Term Ends: May 1, 2016
Mr. Stephen Willett, Secretary
Wisconsin Technical College System
Board Representative

300 Storms Road
Phillips, WI 54555
(715) 339-2125
(715) 499-0844 cell
Term Ends: May 1, 2015
Lieutenant Governor Margret A. Farrow
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Board of Regents

W262N2402 Deer Haven Drive
Pewaukee, WI 53072
(262) 248-8442
Term Ends: May 1, 2017
Ms. Jennifer Kammerud
Policy Initiatives Advisor
Office of the State Superintendent

P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
(608) 266-7073
(608) 267-1052 fax
Term Ends: Indefinite
Dr. Verna Fowler, Ex-Officio Member
Tribal Colleges
President, College of the Menominee Nation

P.O. Box 1179
Keshena, WI 54135
(715) 799-5600
Ms. Michelle Thompson
Thompson Communications Principal & Owner
Public-At-Large Representative

1241 Alexandria Lane
Madison, WI 53718
(608) 577-9405
Term Ends: May 1, 2018
Ms. Kathleen Sahlhoff
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Financial Aid Representative

University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
3470 33rd Street
Elk Mound, WI 54739
(715) 874-4940
Term Ends: May 1, 2016
Mr. Jacob Lubenow
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Student Representative

1650 Kronshage Drive
Madison, WI 53706
(262) 844-5508
Term Ends: May 1, 2017
Mr. Benjamin Zellmer
Independant Colleges and Universities
Student Representative

13575 Braemar Drive
Elm Grove, WI 53122
(414) 659-8457
Term Ends: May 1, 2017
Mr. Jeff Cichon
Wisconsin Technical College System
Financial Aid Representative

Northcentral Technical College
1008 County Rd B
Marathon, WI 54448-9346
(715) 370-2230
Mr. Robert T. Welch
Independent Colleges and Universities
Board Representative

P.O. Box 523
Redgranite, WI 54970
(608) 819-8232
Term Ends: May 1, 2017