# State of Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board

#### March 17, 2017

#### **Conference Call**

#### **MINUTES**

Members present: Dr. Morna Foy, WTCS

Dr. Ray Cross, UW System Dr. Rolf Wegenke, WAICU Mr. David Dies, EAB

Others present: Mr. Derrek Fields, EAB

Dr. Barbara Bales, UW System Ms. Paige Reed, UW System Ms. Rebecca Larson, WAICU Ms. Kathy Dutter, WAICU Ms. Nancy Merrill, WTCS

#### **Call to Order and Open Meeting Statement**

Dr. Foy, DLAB chair, called the meeting to order. Dr. Foy requested that Ms. Dutter read the Open Meeting Statement as follows: "The March 17, 2017 meeting of the Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board and all other meetings of this board are open to the public in compliance with State Statute. Notice of the meeting has been sent to the press in an attempt to make the general public of Wisconsin aware of the time, place and agenda of the meeting."

### Action: Approval of September 29, 2016 DLAB meeting minutes

There were no corrections to the September 29, 2016 meeting minutes. The minutes were approved unanimously (Wegenke/Cross motion).

#### Action: Approval of January 18, 2017 DLAB meeting minutes

There were no corrections to the January 18, 2017 meeting minutes. The minutes were approved unanimously (Cross/Wegenke motion).

Both sets of minutes will be posted on the DLAB website.

## Action: Review of Institutional Applications Recommended for SARA Participation

Ms. Merrill summarized the SARA application from Blackhawk Technical College. She noted that she had forgotten to check some boxes on the form and would be addressing that promptly. She stated that Blackhawk Technical College met all the requirements, and requested the board approve the application. There were no questions and the board approved the application unanimously (Wegenke/Cross motion).

Ms. Merrill presented Waukesha County Technical College's application, stating that, if it is approved, all 16 technical colleges will be members of SARA. She explained that the application met all the requirements for participation. There were no questions and the application was approved unanimously (Cross/Wegenke motion).

Dr. Foy announced that Mr. Dies would be recommending provisional approval for Madison Media Institute and Wright University and asked him to explain why.

Mr. Dies explained that he had questions about oddities in their governing structures. SARA requires participating institutions to be accredited by an entity recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. Both applicants are accredited by the Accrediting Council of Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS), which is no longer recognized. Mr. Dies has been working with Ms. Larson, Ms. Merrill, and NC-SARA to clarify eligibility. As it stands, NC-SARA will treat institutions accredited by ACICS as eligible for 18 months from the date ACICS lost its recognition. During that 18-month period, there are a series of milestones the U.S. Department of Education is requiring the affected institutions meet. Mr. Dies is recommending that DLAB provisionally approve these two institutions, contingent on them achieving these milestones in the required timeframe.

Dr. Cross inquired about the EAB approval for the institutions that expires December 31, 2017. Mr. Dies clarified that EAB approves all of its institutions on an annual, calendar-year basis. EAB would begin its 2018 renewal process before the current one expires. If one or both of the institutions were to lose EAB approval, they would also lose recognition by NC-SARA.

Dr. Cross asked Dr. Foy to define "provisional" as specified by NC-SARA. Dr. Foy explained that, according to NC-SARA, until the above-mentioned 18-month period is completed, the institutions are to be considered accredited and eligible for SARA participation, as long as the institutions continue to make progress on the other requirements they have been asked to address for accreditation purposes. If, during that time, they are found to not be compliant in good faith, their provisional accreditation could be pulled, as well as their SARA qualification. In response to Dr. Cross' inquiry, Mr. Dies affirmed that he is comfortable with this approach.

Dr. Cross moved to approve the two applications, stating that he would rely on Mr. Dies and the scrutiny he will be placing on these institutions. Dr. Foy seconded the motion. Ms. Merrill noted that once the institutions pay their NC-SARA invoice and are approved participants, that money

is nonrefundable. Mr. Dies stated he would share that information with Madison Media Institute and Wright University. There was no further discussion, and the motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Foy thanked Mr. Dies for his review of the complicated applications and for pursuing the right course of action.

## **Next Meeting Date Discussion**

Barring receipt of additional applications, the purpose of the next meeting would be to take action on the state application for renewal to maintain Wisconsin's authorization in SARA. A series of forms will need to be updated. Dr. Foy directed the agency liaisons to work on the form preparation and determine the next meeting date, likely in late May or June. The DLAB web page would need to be updated with meeting information and a new application deadline, which would be two weeks prior to the DLAB meeting.

A meeting in late summer or early fall should be held to consider the renewal applications from participating institutions. Dr. Foy recommended making an effort to have all institutions apply for renewal at the same time so that they can be addressed in one meeting.

## **Adjourn**

There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned by unanimous consent (Cross/Foy motion).

Respectfully submitted,

Rolf Wegenke, President, WAICU

Secretary, DLAB